Tether and Fasanara Launch $400M Private-Credit Fund

Tether and Fasanara Capital launched StableFund, a jointly sponsored private-credit fund anchored by $400 million in combined co-investment, on September 9, 202...

Tether and Fasanara Launch $400M Private-Credit Fund

Tether and Fasanara Capital launched StableFund, a jointly sponsored private-credit fund anchored by $400 million in combined co-investment, on September 9, 2026. The evergreen vehicle targets stablecoin-enabled lending into the real economy, with a separate goal of raising billions more from institutions.

TLDR KEYPOINTS

  • Tether and Fasanara Capital are the named sponsors of StableFund.
  • The launch establishes a jointly sponsored private-credit fund.
  • The stated anchor size is $400 million in co-investment.

Tether and Fasanara anchor StableFund with $400 million

The two firms announced StableFund as an evergreen private-credit vehicle, according to Tether’s September 9 statement. The fund is designed to expand stablecoin-enabled lending into small-business and consumer credit markets. For related coverage, see Tether Gold Adds $237M Market Cap, Leads Tokenized Gold Growth.

What the announcement establishes

The vehicle is jointly sponsored, with Fasanara acting as investment manager and Tether as co-sponsor, originator and advisor. Both firms are named as the anchor investors behind the initial capital. For related coverage, see Hunter Biden Denies LAPTOP Scam Claims After 99% Crash.

What the $400 million figure represents

The $400 million is described as combined co-investment across both sponsors, not capital already deployed. The announcement does not disclose how much each sponsor contributed or how much has been paid in. For related coverage, see Treasury Bond Buyback: Up to $6 Billion on Sept. 10.

StableFund: announced sponsor co-investment

$400 million

According to Tether’s September 9, 2026 announcement, Tether and Fasanara Capital jointly anchor StableFund with $400 million in co-investment. Individual contributions and amounts paid in or deployed were not disclosed.

Separately, the sponsors set a target of up to $3 billion in third-party institutional capital. That is a fundraising goal, not money already committed to the fund.

StableFund: third-party institutional fundraising target

Up to $3 billion

Tether’s September 9, 2026 announcement sets a target of up to $3 billion in third-party institutional capital. This is a fundraising goal, not capital already raised.

How StableFund is structured, and what remains undisclosed

Fasanara, which describes itself as a London-based specialist asset manager with over $6 billion in assets under management, will deploy capital through its fintech lending network into short-duration, asset-backed credit strategies. The network reaches fintech platforms operating in more than 60 countries, per the sponsors.

Partner roles and the USDT connection

Tether will source USDT-linked financing opportunities and provide settlement infrastructure, on/off-ramp connectivity and treasury rail integration. The move extends Tether’s push beyond reserves; the firm has also taken direct equity positions such as its majority stake in Adecoagro.

Through this fund, Tether is playing the role it is best positioned to play, sourcing USD₮-linked financing opportunities and providing the stablecoin infrastructure that enables seamless cross-border lending.

— Paolo Ardoino, CEO of Tether, in the announcement

The announcement stops short of confirming that USDT is loan principal, collateral or the fund’s denomination, or that fund interests are tokenized. It specifies USDT-linked origination and settlement only. Tether’s broader lending footprint is also visible in products where Tether-linked assets serve as loan collateral.

Terms still to verify

Key details remain unstated: the sponsor contribution split, fees, leverage, redemption terms, loss seniority, legal domicile and investor eligibility. Until those are disclosed, the fund’s risk profile for outside investors cannot be assessed.

Private-credit context for crypto readers

Private credit refers to non-bank lending, typically direct loans to companies that do not trade on public markets. StableFund’s asset-backed, short-duration strategy sits within that broad category.

The market has expanded quickly. The Financial Stability Board estimated private-credit assets at $1.5 trillion to $2.0 trillion at end-2024, a dated figure that should not be treated as interchangeable with the roughly $3 trillion global-market size the sponsors cite without a stated measurement date.

The FSB, whose analysis does not evaluate StableFund, flagged sector-wide risks including borrower credit quality, opaque valuations, leverage and redemption-related liquidity pressures. Private credit has grown rapidly and remains untested in a prolonged economic downturn, the board said, with high leverage and concentration in specific sectors potentially amplifying stress.

What to watch next: disclosure of the sponsor split and deployment pace, confirmation of how USDT settlement is used in practice, and early progress against the third-party fundraising goal.

Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and digital asset markets carry significant risk. Always do your own research before making decisions.

More From Crypto News

SEC Chair Paul Atkins Says Agency Is Working on Crypto Regulatory Clarity
Crypto News

SEC Chair Paul Atkins Says Agency Is Working on Crypto Regulatory Clarity

Atkins stated at the America First Policy Institute that the SEC is working to give crypto participants clearer regulatory expectations. His remarks framed the...

Oct 1, 20263 min read
Aave’s $50M Institutional Lending Facility: How Losses Could Occur Without Default
Crypto News

Aave’s $50M Institutional Lending Facility: How Losses Could Occur Without Default

A proposal circulating in Aave governance would establish a $50 million institutional lending facility, but the structure raises an unusual risk: the facility c...

Oct 1, 20263 min read
Robinhood to Launch Crypto Perpetual Futures in the US
Crypto News

Robinhood to Launch Crypto Perpetual Futures in the US

The announcement positions Robinhood as one of the few retail-facing US platforms preparing to offer perpetual futures domestically. Access will be limited to e...

Oct 1, 20263 min read
Bitcoin Fails to Hold $85,000 After August PCE Data
Crypto News

Bitcoin Fails to Hold $85,000 After August PCE Data

Bitcoin pushed above $85,000 following the release of the August Personal Consumption Expenditures (PCE) report from the U. S.

Oct 1, 20264 min read
Robinhood Unveils AI Trading Agents and Crypto Perpetuals
Crypto News

Robinhood Unveils AI Trading Agents and Crypto Perpetuals

Robinhood has unveiled two new product offerings targeted at active traders: AI-powered trading agents and crypto perpetuals contracts. The dual announcement po...

Sep 30, 20263 min read
Stablecoin Card Spending Hits Record $1.17B in September
Crypto News

Stablecoin Card Spending Hits Record $1.17B in September

Stablecoin card spending hit a record $1. 17 billion in September, according to Paymentscan data, marking the highest monthly total the payments analytics platf...

Sep 30, 20263 min read
Akita Inu

Author

Akita Inu

Akita Inu covers fast-moving crypto market updates, exchange news, and token ecosystem developments for CoinLive, with a focus on concise source-led reporting.